Louisiana Health Care Commission Meeting Minutes Poydras Building Hearing Room Baton Rouge, Louisiana January 29, 2010

Members present:

Leah Barron, Doreen Brasseaux, Dr. L. Philip Caillouet, Dawn Cantrell, Dr. John Steven Caraway, Julie Cherry, Derrell Cohoon, Dr. Karen DeSalvo, Berkley Durbin, Kerry Everitt, Dr. Thomas Fairley, Donna Fraiche, Dr. Holley Galland, Randal Johnson, Dr. Anil Kukreja, Rhonda Litt, Donna Mayeux, Dr. Hugh McKnight, Benjamin P. Mouton, Myra Myers, William R. Naquin, Ron Nezat, Christine Arbo Peck, Bridgette Richard, Bobby Savoie, Donna Swanson, Tommy Teague, Cheryl Tolbert, Dr. Laura Trunk and Karen Reiners Winfrey.

Members absent:

Coletta Barrett, Dr. Robert Barsley, Scott Broussard, Diane Davidson, Scott Flowers, Rep. Chuck Kleckley, Dr. Warren C. Lowe, Bert Melancon, John D. Monlezun, Sr., Senator Jean-Paul Morrell, Gordon Natal, Jr. and Phyllis Perron.

Staff present:

Alison M. Jones, Thomas Clemons, Vanessa Vince and Karen Krumholt.

Chairperson Donna Fraiche called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m.

Chairperson Fraiche introduced the following new Louisiana Health Care Commission (LHCC) members and their organizations:

- Mr. Derrell Cohoon, America's Health Insurance Plans
- Hugh V. McKnight, Sr., D.D.S., Nation Dental Association
- Mr. Ron J. Nezat, Louisiana Association of Health Underwriters

The roll was called and a quorum was present. The commission voted to approve the minutes from the August 21, 2009 and October 23, 2009 LHCC meetings.

Ms. Joy J. Wilson, Health Policy Director, National Conference of State Legislatures reported on the status of Federal Health Care Reform Legislation via audio conference call. Ms. Wilson discussed the congressional legislative process and process options for health reform. She reported on current health reform discussions in congress regarding reconciliation. Ms. Wilson explained that the reconciliation process is designed to be limited to issues that change substantive law so that revenue and mandatory spending levels reflect policy established in the budget resolution. She advised that reconciliation requires 51 votes in the Senate but requires 60 votes to get past a point of order.

Ms. Julia Kenny, Chief of Staff, Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) reported on budget issues impacting Louisiana and DHH programs. Ms. Kenny discussed the

drop in Federal Medical Assistance Percentages (FMAP) facing Louisiana and the challenges in addressing the state's mid-year budget deficit. She further discussed DHH's spending reduction plan which includes employee layoffs, privatization of community homes, transitioning displaced employees to ensure employees find other jobs and exploring retirement incentives.

Ms. Kenny advised that for the first time in history, the Baton Rouge region will have a new Level One trauma center established at Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center, a public-private partnership between Louisiana State University (LSU) and Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center. She further advised that LSU will open a new urgent care clinic in North Baton Rouge. Ms. Kenny stated that the new clinic will remain open 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Ms. Leah Barron, Chief Executive Officer, Louisiana Health Plan reported on Expansion of the Louisiana High Risk Pool. Ms. Barron discussed federal funding for high risk pool coverage, eligibility requirements, premiums and covered benefits under the current congressional legislation.

Ms. Karen Winfrey, Deputy Commissioner, Office of Health, Louisiana Department of Insurance reported on the Department of Insurance Legislation for the 2010 Regular Legislative Session.

Ms. Alison Jones reported on the Louisiana Department Insurance Annual Health Care Conference. She announced that the conference is scheduled for Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Baton Rouge.

Vice Chairperson Karen DeSalvo announced that the next LHCC meeting is scheduled for Friday, March 26, 2010.

The meeting adjourned at 11:05 a.m.